## **New Policy Manager for Ofcom Consumer Panel**

5 September 2005

Georgia Klein has been appointed as the new Policy Manager of Ofcom's independent Consumer Panel. Ms Klein joins from the National Consumer Council where she was Senior Policy Officer responsible for stimulating high-profile policy changes across a range of industries.

Colette Bowe, Chairman of the Ofcom Consumer Panel, said:

"Georgia joins the Panel at an exciting time. The communications market is bursting with change and issues, which will have a fundamental impact on us all as consumers and citizens. Georgia has an excellent track record in developing and running high profile projects, which get to the heart of consumer issues and which bring about change. Our role in championing consumer interests in the communications market is absolutely crucial and we believe Georgia will add real value to our work. We are delighted to have her on board."

The Panel was created to advise the Board of Ofcom on consumer concerns about communications issues. It works from a firm bedrock of evidence and this year it published the UK's largest piece of consumer research to date into consumers concerns about the communications market and what their understanding of it is. The research highlights much confusion amongst consumers about the benefits of new technologies and difficulty in comparing tariffs and services.

Julie Myers, Georgia Klein's predecessor, is moving to a policy role within Ofcom's Contents and Standards Group. Colette Bowe thanked Julie Myers warmly for her excellent work in getting the Panel up and running and steering the first stage of its work.

Ends

Notes to editors and CSEs

The Ofcom Consumer Panel was established to advise Ofcom on the consumer interest in the markets it regulates. The Panel is independent and sets its own agenda. Visit www.ofcomconsumerpanel.org.uk for more information about the Panel as well as a copy of the UK consumer research.

Colette Bowe of the Consumer Panel is available for interviews.

The Panel's members appointed by Ofcom are:
Colette Bowe, Chairman
Ruth Evans, Deputy Chairman
Azeem Azhar
Fiona Ballantyne
Roger Darlington
Simon Gibson
Graham Mather
Kevin McLaughlin
Kate O'Rourke
Bob Twitchin